Resume

My Story

Tin HtooMy name is Tin T. Htoo. I am a mechanical engineer in Toronto, Canada. Most of my experience can be summarized as engineering design of compnents and electro-mechanical systems for industrial applications. This page has been created to share my experiences, interests, values and what I seek in my work environment to make new connections for work and business.

 

My Work Experience

Sheetmetal components and assemblies

Sheetmetal design is a speciality of mine. Brackets, enclosures and latches are some of the many sheetmetal parts I have designed. I have designed from a small latch to an industrial cabinet.

Electronics Packaging

I have designed packaging of electrical power supplies, high frequency telecoms equipment and other electro-mechanical assemblies in industrial applications. I have designed assemblies for electromagnetic interference. I have analyzed and solved air flow and thermal issues in power supplies using heat sinks and thermal interface materials.

System Integration

I have developed systems that require the understanding of multiple disciplines. A scrap marker in an industrial printing system is a good example. I made two of those. One uses ink-jet technology and the other mechanical contact. For the ink-jet system, we learned how the technology worked, sourced components, exprimented and developed the system. For the mechanical contact marker, we used an OEM ink-roll, a rubber marking roller, a solenoid, precision shafting and bearings. In both projects, I designed the mechanical parts and coordinated electrical and software engineers.

Mast Raising Device Prototype

I made it to raise and lower the mast on a 20-ft sailboat. The mast is approximately about 30′ long and weigh about 80lb. The device made it possible to raise and lower the mast with only one person cranking the winch easily and under control. It can hold the mast in mid-operation safely. I used an aluminium tubing, a brake winch, a few custom made metal brackets and some lines.

Employment History

Hardware Engineer III, A Technology and Services Company, Toronto, ON, 2016 to 2021
Senior Mechanical Engineer, MURATA POWER SOLUTIONS, Markham, ON, 2008 to 2014
Mechanical Engineer, FLEXTRONICS CANADA DESIGN SERVICES, INC., Ottawa, ON, 2008 to 2008
Mechanical Engineer, MKU CANADA [ASTRIS ENERGI], Mississauga, ON, 2007 to 2008
Staff Mechanical Engineer, DELPHAX TECHNOLOGIES CANADA LTD., Mississauga, ON, 1998 to 2007
Engineering Staff (contract), NORTEL, Ottawa, ON, 1994 to 1998

I have long understood that all disciplines and groups must work well together for an organization to be successful. I have always been interested in how different groups interact and cooperate with each other. I took electronics engineering and business courses as electives during my undergraduate studies. Then I continue to learn about computers, business and management through books and courses for my own interest. Most of my working life has been in electro-mechanical industries. All this experience and learning helps me relate easily to those with non-mechanical engineering background.

I have always been interested in making things, be it food, websites, pictures, structures or mechanisms. There is something special about creating something from nothing. When I began my career, I naturally started out doing detail design work. In the last few years, I have been playing more of a supervisory role. I find it rewording and want to focus on it more in my future jobs. I feel that I will be able to do a good job of mentoring and coaching young engineers, as I have walked the path they are embarking on now.

Over the years, I have noticed that I am more interested in fire-prevention than fire-fighting. I would much prefer to work with those who value good planning and thinking ahead than those who depend largely on reacting.

My Preferred Industries

Going forward, I would like to contribute in the industries that help us live with minimal or no impact on the planet, ie. renewable energy, plastic recycling, and sustainable materials. I have always been willing and able to learn new things in life. I would very much like an opportunity to contribute in one of these industries.

My Values

I believe in good ethics, good quality work, work-life balance, fairness, collaboration, putting back into the community, and everyone’s right to grow to their capacity.

I would prefer to work for/with a company that manufactures most of the goods in North America.

I am also at a stage in my life where work-life balance matters more than a career, and flexibility is more important than job-security. So I am open to many kinds of arrangements for work — part-time, contract, full-time, partnership, etc..

Other Interests And Hobbies

Sailing – I lived to race sailboats until about 40. I have been to two world championship level events in albacore dinghies. I was known for making an old boat go with minimal gadgets. Sailboat racing was a big part of my life and it has also taught me many things. I am still enjoying leisure sailing regularly.

Food – It is a hobby of mine. I cook everyday for taste and fun. I can cook most of what I like better than many restaurants. I am still learning new things regularly and improving slowly.

Traveling – I want to see and know the world we live in as much as possible. I don’t want to just go to places, take selfies and return. I want to be able to feel how people live and work there. It usually means spending time at the place. It is not easy to do when you have limited time and budget. I try to do what I can.

Photography – My pictures are mostly landscapes, some city shots, and occasional portraits. Like everything else, I am finding many little things to learn to make better pictures regardless of the equipment.

Reading – I appreciate good writing of any kind. I have been reading novels, creative non-fictions and self-help books.

Writing – I have written technical reports, instruction manuals and engineering change documents among other things. I also dabble in fiction and non-fiction writing.

Website Building – I have built and maintained websites with HTML and CSS, WordPress, Joomla and Concrete 5.

Home And Appliances Maintenance – I have repaired, renovated and built many things at home. Most of the time, I did it to get exactly what I wanted, and saved some money but also spent more time in the process.

Computers – I have been building and maintaining linux and windows computers at home. Linux has been my operating system of choice at home for over 10 years.

I hope this gives you a idea of who I am, my background and interests. If you feel that I can be a good person to connect with, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me.

Contact

I can be reached at
skippertin at gmail.com

Thank you for reading and warm regards.

Tin